Antibiotic Resistance on ANZAC Day

There’s not much that will stop me from banging on about antimicrobial resistance.  Preventing it is my job – and my passion – I’m lucky enough to have landed a job doing something that really fits with what I like doing.

NPS Medicinewise (formerly the National Prescribing Service) do a lot of great stuff in promoting appropriate use of medicines (not just antibiotics) and their page on antimicrobial resistance is a great starting point if you want to read about the topic.  They also co-ordinate a national hospital antibiotic use survey in September (which is the source for a lot of my stats on antibiotic use) and have some great educational resources for prescribers (if you’re a junior doctor reading this:  do these modules).

 

This tweet popped up in my twitter stream this morning, linking to this video.

I love the video – I think it’s great to hear from people who can see the enormous difference that antibiotics have made in their lifetime – because otherwise, it’s just doom-sayers like me predicting a return to the time when we don’t have effective antimicrobials.

But I’m just not sure how comfortable I am about leveraging ANZAC day for a public health message.

There’s quite a bit of navel-gazing this year about ANZAC day – as people become more remote from the diggers it all started with.  See the excellent thoughts of John Birmingham here.  Whether or not that’s the case, I suspect the outrage engine would be in full-swing if a business ran ads trading on the ANZAC story.  I’m just not sure we should treat a public service message any differently.

In any event, ANZAC day is important and although its meaning to the general public may shift, I think we should keep its observation low key (in fact, I quite like Jon Kudelka‘s suggestion.

Antibiotic resistance is also important.  But let’s get rid of the overlap between the two.

But really – watch the NPS video anyway.

 

~ by Trent on April 25, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
